Sauna · Buyer’s Guide
Best Infrared Sauna: How to Compare Infrared Sauna Brands in 2026
The best infrared sauna in 2026 is not a single brand — it is the one whose independently verified specifications match your health goals, your space, and your budget. Across the premium market, buyers should compare ten measurable factors: infrared spectrum (far vs full-spectrum), verified EMF in milligauss at seated distance from a named lab, heater coverage as a percentage of cabin surface area, wood species and kiln-dried moisture content, maximum cabin temperature, smart controls or dedicated app, warranty depth (including in-home service), safety certifications (ETL, ETL-C, RoHS), price in CAD, and post-sale support access. This guide builds that comparison framework using Sun Home Saunas and Peak Saunas as neutral reference points — both brands appear here for illustrative context only, with no purchase endorsement — and shows how the Calore Infrared Pro holds up against those benchmarks for Canadian buyers in 2026.
Key Takeaways
- Ten specifications separate good from great. Spectrum, verified EMF (target <3 mG at seated distance, premium <1 mG), heater coverage, wood grade, max temp, controls, warranty, certifications, price CAD, and support — evaluate all ten before deciding.
- Always ask for third-party EMF lab reports. A published milligauss number without a named laboratory, measurement distance, and methodology is unverifiable. The ICNIRP ELF reference levels are the international benchmark for occupational and public exposure.
- Full-spectrum and low-EMF involve a real trade-off. Near-infrared heaters add wavelength breadth but typically raise EMF. Verified low-EMF full-spectrum builds are achievable but require active shielding — not all brands disclose the method.
- Wood and VOC testing matter inside a heated cabin. At 55–75°C (130–165°F), adhesives and composite wood products off-gas. Look for Grade-A kiln-dried cedar or hemlock at <8% moisture and published third-party VOC air quality results.
- Warranty fine print changes the true cost. Separate coverage periods for heaters, cabinet, controls, and whether in-home service is included dramatically affect long-term value.
- Canadian buyers can shop the full range at Calore’s sauna collection — with CAD pricing, Canadian warranty support, and verified low-EMF specs.
Why comparing infrared sauna brands properly matters in 2026
The infrared sauna market in 2026 has more brands, more price points, and more unverified specification claims than any previous year. A buyer reading product pages from a dozen direct-to-consumer companies will encounter published EMF numbers without lab names, “full-spectrum” claims without wavelength breakdowns, and “limited lifetime warranties” that cover heaters for life but the cabinet for three years. Without a structured comparison framework, it is nearly impossible to evaluate whether a $5,000 CAD sauna is worth twice the price of a $2,500 one — or whether two units at the same price actually deliver comparable performance.
Two brands currently generating significant search interest as comparison subjects are Sun Home Saunas and Peak Saunas. Both are direct-to-consumer US-based brands with infrared lineups in the $4,000–$10,000 USD range. Sun Home has been operating since 2021 with published third-party testing data; Peak launched around 2024 and is building its product track record. We include both as neutral reference points throughout this framework — not as recommended purchases — to illustrate how the same ten evaluation factors apply across different brands at similar price points. All competitor specification data cited here is sourced from publicly available product pages, accessed July 2026.
Top Picks at a Glance
- Calore Infrared Pro — Best for Canadian buyers: Grade-A Canadian cedar or hemlock cabin, third-party verified low-EMF, ETL-C certified, CAD pricing with domestic warranty support. View Calore’s infrared sauna.
- Sun Home Saunas — A US direct-to-consumer brand with published third-party EMF testing (0.5 mG via Vitatech, 2025) and full-spectrum models; US-based warranty service for Canadian buyers.
- Peak Saunas — A newer US brand in a similar price range with carbon-panel far-infrared models; independent EMF lab data and certifications not fully disclosed on product pages as of July 2026 — verify directly before purchasing.
No purchase endorsement is made for Sun Home or Peak Saunas. All three brands are cited as neutral comparison subjects. See the full ten-factor framework below.
How to use this guide: Work through the ten factors in order. Each one has a “what good looks like” benchmark. Apply those benchmarks to any brand you are evaluating, including the three in the comparison table below. The framework does not change; only the specs do.
The best infrared sauna comparison framework: 10 factors
Ten factors separate a well-specified infrared sauna from a marketing-heavy one, and they apply consistently across every price tier from entry-level far-infrared to premium full-spectrum. The order matters: start with spectrum and EMF because they shape every other decision, then work through the physical build, the commercial terms, and the ownership experience. A sauna that scores well across all ten is a genuinely strong product; one that excels at two or three and is silent on the rest deserves deeper scrutiny before purchase.
Factor 1: Infrared spectrum — far-only vs full-spectrum
Infrared heaters operate across three wavelength bands — near (NIR, 0.7–1.4 μm), mid (MIR, 1.4–5.6 μm), and far (FIR, 5.6–1,000 μm) — and most entry and mid-tier saunas deliver far-infrared only via carbon panel heaters. Full-spectrum units add near and mid wavelengths through additional heater types, typically halogen rods (near) and a blend of carbon and ceramic (mid). Full-spectrum designs reach higher cabin temperatures — typically 75–82°C (165–180°F) on premium units — and deliver a broader physiological stimulus. The practical trade-off: near-infrared heaters run at higher surface temperatures and generate more ELF-EMF, so full-spectrum and ultra-low-EMF are in tension unless the brand uses active shielding.
When evaluating spectrum claims, ask: Does the brand specify the heater types for each wavelength band? Do they list the wavelengths in micrometres or nanometres, or just say “full spectrum” without a breakdown? Is the near-infrared component from dedicated halogen elements, or is it a marketing claim applied to carbon panels that primarily emit in the far band? Precision here separates an honest specification from a buzzword.
How do I verify an infrared sauna’s EMF claims? What the numbers actually mean
Low-EMF is one of the most misunderstood and most misrepresented specifications in the infrared sauna market. EMF in this context refers to extremely low frequency (ELF) electromagnetic fields, measured in milligauss (mG), produced by the alternating current running through the heater elements. The relevant measurement is at the occupant’s seated position inside the cabin, not at the heater panel surface (which is always higher). Most premium brands target under 3 mG at seated distance; the best publish verified results under 1 mG.
How to verify an EMF claim: Any milligauss figure without (1) a named independent testing laboratory, (2) the specific instrument used (e.g., fluxgate magnetometer), (3) the measurement distance and body position, and (4) a date on the report is not independently verifiable. The International Commission on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection (ICNIRP) publishes general public reference levels for ELF-EMF; use these as context, not as a pass/fail threshold for sauna use, which is intermittent. Ask every brand for their lab report, not just the number on the product page.
Stat: Sun Home Saunas publishes an EMF reading of 0.5 mG, independently measured by Vitatech Electromagnetics (fluxgate magnetometers, at seated position, all heaters active, January 2025 — per sunhomesaunas.com product pages, accessed July 2026). Peak Saunas publishes approximately 2 mG on some product pages; testing lab, measurement distance, and methodology were not specified on those pages as of the time of this review (peaksaunas.com, accessed July 2026). Calore Infrared Pro publishes third-party verified EMF results available on the Calore indoor infrared sauna product page.
For a deeper look at low-EMF verification methodology and how to read a lab report, see our guide to the best low-EMF full-spectrum infrared sauna.
Factor 3: Heater coverage and placement
Heater coverage — the percentage of cabin wall, bench, and floor surface area served by active infrared panels — determines how evenly the heat reaches your body and how quickly the cabin reaches temperature. A sauna with panels only on the front and back walls delivers infrared to the torso but leaves the legs, calves, and sides relatively unserved. High-coverage designs wrap panels around the back wall, side walls, under the bench, and even in the floor, creating a more enveloping and physiologically complete heat experience.
When comparing heater coverage, look for the total number of panels, their wattage, and their placement. A 1-person cabin rated at 1,200W across eight panels covering five surfaces is meaningfully different from the same wattage across two panels on a single wall. Also ask whether near-infrared panels are positioned at therapeutic proximity (most effective at roughly 15–30 cm from the skin) versus mounted at distance.
What wood species makes the best infrared sauna cabin? Grade and VOC transparency
The wood inside your sauna cabin is the material you breathe near at 55–75°C for 20–45 minutes per session, which makes species, grade, moisture content, and off-gassing behaviour genuinely important specifications — not marketing texture. The three species most commonly used in premium saunas are Canadian Western Red Cedar, Canadian Hemlock, and Eucalyptus.
Canadian Western Red Cedar
Cedar is the benchmark sauna wood: naturally antimicrobial, aromatic, dimensionally stable under repeated thermal cycling, and resistant to moisture damage. Its natural oils give it that distinctive warm, resinous scent and help it resist mould without chemical treatment. Kiln-dried to under 8% moisture content, cedar is the most thermally forgiving wood in the residential sauna market and the one most buyers familiar with Finnish sauna tradition expect.
Canadian Hemlock
Hemlock is the most widely used entry-to-midrange sauna wood: knot-free, pale-toned, and sufficiently stable for most indoor installations. It lacks cedar’s natural oils and aroma, is lighter (easier to ship and assemble), and is generally adequate for buyers who prioritise performance over tradition. Properly kiln-dried hemlock at under 8% moisture will not warp in normal residential use.
VOC transparency
The adhesives, stains, and any composite materials in the cabin can off-gas at sauna temperatures even when the wood itself is clean. Ask for third-party VOC test results conducted at operating temperature using a recognised method such as EPA Method TO-15 by an AIHA-accredited laboratory, with compound-level results compared to OSHA PEL and USEPA RSL screening levels. A brand that publishes this level of air quality transparency is making a verifiable commitment; one that says only “non-toxic materials” is making a marketing claim.
What temperature should the best infrared sauna reach, and how quickly?
Published maximum temperature and actual independently confirmed temperature are two different numbers, and the gap matters. A cabin rated to 75°C (165°F) that third-party testers confirm reaches that temperature in real-world conditions is categorically different from a brand that publishes the same figure without independent verification. Cabin temperature affects time-to-sweat, session intensity, and the physiological response — a unit that consistently underperforms its stated temperature delivers less of what buyers paid for.
Heat-up time is equally practical: a 2-person cabin that reaches 60°C (140°F) in 15 minutes supports spontaneous daily use far better than one that takes 40 minutes. Ask brands for real-world heat-up time at your local ambient temperature, not just the best-case figure from a conditioned lab environment.
Factor 6: Controls, app, and session programming
Digital controls and mobile apps have moved from luxury features to standard expectations in the premium infrared sauna market — but the quality gap between a proprietary native app and a third-party generic WiFi controller is significant. A native app built for a specific sauna brand can support remote preheat scheduling, guided breathwork or wellness programs, session logging, and integration with wearables. A generic third-party app (such as SmartLife, used by some newer brands) offers basic temperature and timer control but no brand-specific programming or support integration.
For daily users, the ability to schedule preheat from bed and walk into a ready cabin is a genuine quality-of-life difference. For occasional users, a simple in-cabin touchscreen may be entirely sufficient. Match the control complexity to your intended use pattern.
How long should the warranty be on the best infrared sauna? Depth and in-home service
Warranty terms are among the most consistently misread specifications in the infrared sauna market, and the fine print changes the true long-term cost of ownership substantially. A “limited lifetime warranty” headline that covers only the heater elements while giving three years on the cabinet and one year on controls is a very different commitment from a comprehensive warranty covering all components for a consistent period.
The most buyer-friendly warranty structures include: equal coverage periods across all major components; in-home technician service as a standard (not premium) option; clear language on what voids the warranty; and a Canadian service team for Canadian buyers rather than a cross-border shipping requirement. Ask specifically: “If my back panel heater fails in year four, who comes to fix it, who pays for the part, and who pays for the labour?” The answer to that question tells you more than the headline warranty period.
Factor 8: Safety certifications
Electrical safety certifications confirm that a sauna’s wiring, heater elements, and control systems have been independently tested to North American safety standards — they are not optional for a product that combines 240V electricity with water vapour and heated enclosures. The key certifications to look for are ETL (Electrical Testing Labs, US market) and ETL-C (the Canadian equivalent mark), which confirm the unit meets UL safety standards. RoHS certification confirms that components are free from restricted hazardous substances. Intertek is the testing body behind the ETL mark.
If a brand cannot show you ETL and ETL-C marks on the product page or data sheet, ask directly before purchasing. An uncertified unit may not meet your province’s electrical code, which can affect installation, home insurance, and resale value.
Factor 9: Price in CAD and value-per-spec
Price in CAD is not the same as price in USD, and the conversion plus import duties can shift a “cheaper” US-listed brand into the same tier as a Canadian-stocked competitor once landed cost is factored in. A unit listed at $4,999 USD by a US direct-to-consumer brand becomes roughly $6,800–$7,200 CAD at current rates before shipping, brokerage, and duties. A Canadian retailer who stocks the unit domestically, provides a Canadian warranty, and delivers within the country may offer equivalent or better total value even at a nominally higher CAD sticker price.
When comparing value-per-spec, calculate: what does each verified specification (confirmed low-EMF, named-lab VOC, full-spectrum heaters, named-wood species, ETL-C mark, in-home warranty service) cost per unit? A $7,500 CAD sauna that delivers verified third-party testing across four key categories may be better value than a $6,000 CAD unit that publishes none. The Calore sauna collection is priced in CAD with Canadian delivery and warranty support included.
Factor 10: Post-sale support and parts availability
The post-sale support experience — how quickly you can reach someone, whether they understand their product, and how readily replacement parts are available — becomes the most important factor in year two and beyond. A heater panel, a control board, a bench bracket: these are the parts that eventually need replacement in any sauna used daily for years, and a brand that cannot supply them within a reasonable timeline effectively ends the usable life of a multi-thousand-dollar purchase.
Before buying, test the support channel: call or email with a technical question and note the response time, accuracy, and tone. Ask whether replacement parts are stocked domestically for Canadian buyers or whether they ship from the US or overseas. Ask about the warranty claims process in plain terms. The answers tell you what ownership actually feels like after the sauna is installed.
Best infrared sauna brand comparison table: Calore Infrared Pro, Sun Home, and Peak
The table below applies the ten-factor framework to three brands currently active in the premium infrared sauna market. Sun Home Saunas and Peak Saunas appear here as neutral comparison subjects only — no purchase endorsement is made for either brand, and all competitor specifications are drawn from publicly available product pages accessed July 2026. Buyers should verify current specifications directly with each brand, as product pages change. Calore Infrared Pro specifications reflect Calore’s published product data.
| Specification | Calore Infrared Pro | Sun Home Saunas (accessed July 2026) |
Peak Saunas (accessed July 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Infrared spectrum | Full-spectrum (near, mid, far) | Full-spectrum via halogen + carbon heaters (Equinox, Eclipse, Pod); far-infrared (Solstice) | Carbon panel (far-infrared primary); some models marketed as full-spectrum with added red light panels |
| EMF (verified) | Verified low-EMF (<3 mG target at seated distance); third-party lab report available on the Calore product page. Publisher disclosure: Calore is the publisher of this article; EMF figures are self-disclosed by Calore and should be verified via the lab report linked on the product page. | 0.5 mG — Vitatech Electromagnetics, Jan 2025, seated position, fluxgate magnetometers, all heaters active | ~2 mG published on some models; testing lab, measurement distance, and methodology not specified on product pages |
| Max cabin temperature | Up to 75°C (165°F) | 77°C (170°F) Luminar outdoor; 74°C (165°F) Equinox/Eclipse indoor | ~65°C (150°F) indoor models; up to 77°C (170°F) claimed on some outdoor models |
| Wood species | Grade-A Canadian Western Red Cedar / Canadian Hemlock (model-dependent) | Kiln-dried eucalyptus 7% moisture (Equinox, Solstice); Canadian Hemlock (Eclipse); Canadian red cedar (Pod, Luminar) | Canadian Hemlock |
| VOC air quality testing | Third-party tested; results available on request | TVOC 27 µg/m³ (“Low”) — EPA Method TO-15, VERT Environmental / LA Testing (AIHA LAP accredited), April 2026 | No published VOC testing data located on product pages as of July 2026 |
| Safety certifications | ETL, ETL-C, RoHS | ETL, ETL-C, RoHS, Intertek | Certifications not located on product pages as of July 2026 — confirm directly with brand |
| Controls / app | Digital touchscreen; remote scheduling | Native Sun Home app — remote preheat, guided breathwork, wearable integrations | WiFi via third-party SmartLife app on newer models; no proprietary native app |
| Warranty | Comprehensive Canadian warranty with domestic support | Limited lifetime (Eclipse, Luminar, Pod) with in-home tech visits; 7-year heaters/cabinet + 3-year controls (Equinox, Solstice) | Varies by model; limited lifetime on heaters; shorter periods on wood and structure — verify current terms directly |
| Price (CAD) | See Calore product page for current CAD pricing | From ~$4,899 USD (Solstice 1) — convert to CAD + shipping/duties for landed cost | From ~$4,999–$5,599 USD (Olympus 1-person) — convert to CAD + shipping/duties for landed cost |
| Canadian support | Yes — domestic team, CAD pricing, Canadian warranty | US-based team (1-844-599-2190); cross-border service for Canadian buyers | US-based; Canadian service terms not specified on product pages |
Important note on competitor data: Sun Home Saunas and Peak Saunas specifications in this table are drawn from their publicly available product pages, accessed July 2026. These brands are cited here as neutral comparison subjects only — Calore makes no purchase recommendation for either brand. Specifications change; always verify current data directly on the brand’s website and request up-to-date third-party lab reports before purchasing from any brand. For a deeper comparison involving full-spectrum and low-EMF claims specifically, see our best low-EMF full-spectrum infrared sauna guide and our Sun Home vs LifePro infrared sauna comparison.
Who each buyer tier suits in 2026
No single infrared sauna configuration is right for every buyer — and understanding which tier matches your priorities before you start comparison shopping saves significant time and prevents regret purchases. The market in 2026 broadly sorts into three buyer profiles based on how they weight the ten factors above.
The transparency-first buyer
This buyer prioritises independently verified specifications above all else: a named lab for EMF, published VOC results, ETL-C certification, and a warranty that spells out coverage in plain language. They may not need the highest max temperature or the most sophisticated app, but they want to know that what is printed on the product page is actually what they are getting inside the cabin. This buyer should insist on seeing the lab reports before purchasing, not after. The Calore Infrared Pro and premium full-spectrum units with published third-party testing serve this profile well.
The feature-and-performance buyer
This buyer wants full-spectrum heat, the highest verified cabin temperature, integrated red light therapy, and a sophisticated control experience. They are willing to pay a premium for technology depth and accept that full-spectrum may mean slightly higher EMF than a far-only unit — as long as the brand is transparent about the trade-off. Native app integration, guided programming, and wearable syncing matter to this buyer. They should look carefully at both the EMF figure and the measurement methodology for any full-spectrum unit they consider, because “full-spectrum” and “ultra-low-EMF” in the same sentence require scrutiny.
The value-and-entry buyer
This buyer is entering the infrared sauna market for the first time, wants a reliable far-infrared experience without the full-spectrum price premium, and is focused on a clean certification record and a manageable CAD footprint. They benefit from prioritising ETL-C certification, named wood species (hemlock is fine for this tier), and a straightforward warranty rather than chasing features they may not use daily. The Calore sauna collection includes entry-point options that clear the transparency bar without the full-spectrum price premium.
5 steps to choose the best infrared sauna for your home
Most buyers who regret a sauna purchase skipped at least one of these five steps — usually steps two and four. Work through them in order; each one eliminates options rather than adding them, which is how the decision becomes manageable.
- Define your non-negotiables first. Write down the two or three factors from the ten above that you will not compromise on — typically spectrum (full vs far), EMF threshold, or Canadian service. Any brand that cannot meet those three gets removed from the list before you read another product page.
- Request third-party lab reports, not marketing claims. Email each shortlisted brand and ask for their EMF lab report (with named lab, instrument, measurement distance, and date) and their VOC air quality results. A brand that sends a detailed report earns significant trust; a brand that sends a marketing one-pager with no methodology should be treated with caution.
- Match size to your space and use pattern. A 4-person cabin in a home where one person uses it daily is a poor fit — it wastes energy on every preheat and may not fit the available space. Measure your installation area carefully, including door clearance and ceiling height, and choose the smallest cabin that genuinely fits your usage. Most daily solo users are well served by a 1-to-2-person unit.
- Calculate landed CAD cost, not listed USD price. Add exchange rate, shipping, brokerage, and any applicable import duties to any US-listed price before comparing it to a domestically stocked Canadian option. A $500 CAD difference at the sticker level can disappear entirely once duties and shipping are added.
- Test the support channel before you buy. Call or email with a specific technical question — ask about the heater wattage distribution, or what happens if a control board fails in year three — and assess the response. The quality of that interaction is your best preview of the ownership experience after installation. For Calore’s full indoor infrared sauna lineup, see the Calore indoor infrared sauna product page.
Expert Verdict: Build the Framework First, Then Pick the Sauna
Choosing the best infrared sauna in 2026 is not a brand decision — it is a specification decision. Every brand in the premium market, including the two used as reference points in this guide, has a buyer for whom it is the right fit and a buyer for whom it is the wrong one. The ten-factor framework in this article — spectrum, verified EMF, heater coverage, wood grade, max temperature, controls, warranty depth, certifications, CAD price, and support — gives you the language to ask the right questions and the benchmarks to evaluate the answers without relying on any brand’s self-description of its own products. Canadian buyers have a practical reason to prioritise domestic warranty support and CAD pricing: cross-border warranty claims add time, cost, and friction that a Canadian-stocked and -serviced unit avoids entirely. The Calore Infrared Pro meets the transparency bar on EMF verification, safety certifications, and wood grade, with pricing in CAD and a warranty serviced domestically. Explore the full range at the Calore sauna collection. Key finding: the best infrared sauna is the one whose verified specifications — not its marketing claims — match your ten non-negotiable criteria, and for Canadian buyers in 2026, that verification starts with ETL-C certification, a named-lab EMF report, and a warranty that does not require cross-border shipping to claim.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best infrared sauna to buy in 2026?
The best infrared sauna in 2026 depends on which specifications matter most to you. For verified low-EMF full-spectrum performance, third-party safety testing, Canadian-grade wood, and backed warranty support, the Calore Infrared Pro is our pick for Canadian buyers. Key specifications to evaluate across any brand include the infrared spectrum offered (far-only vs full-spectrum near, mid, and far), independently verified EMF in milligauss at seated distance from a named lab, wood species and moisture content, heater coverage percentage relative to cabin surface area, safety certifications (ETL, ETL-C, RoHS), and warranty terms including whether in-home service is included. Always ask for third-party lab reports, not just marketing claims, before purchasing.
What does low-EMF mean for an infrared sauna and why does it matter?
Low-EMF refers to low extremely low frequency electromagnetic field emissions, measured in milligauss (mG) at the occupant's seated position inside the sauna cabin. Infrared heater panels generate ELF-EMF as a byproduct of resistive heating. Most premium brands target under 3 mG at seated distance, with the best publishing verified results under 1 mG from independent labs using fluxgate magnetometers. The International Commission on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection (ICNIRP) sets general public reference levels for ELF-EMF, and while sauna use is intermittent rather than continuous, many health-conscious buyers prefer verified low readings from a named laboratory with disclosed measurement methodology. A published number without a named lab and measurement distance is not independently verifiable.
What is the difference between full-spectrum and far-infrared saunas?
Far-infrared (FIR) saunas use carbon panel heaters that emit primarily in the far-infrared range (roughly 5.6 to 1,000 micrometres), which penetrates tissue and generates heat efficiently at lower cabin temperatures of around 43 to 57 degrees Celsius (110 to 135 degrees Fahrenheit). Full-spectrum saunas add near-infrared (NIR, roughly 0.7 to 1.4 micrometres) and mid-infrared (MIR, roughly 1.4 to 5.6 micrometres) wavelengths via additional heater types, typically halogen or ceramic elements. Full-spectrum units reach higher cabin temperatures and offer a broader wavelength range, but they often produce higher EMF readings because of the additional heating elements. The trade-off between spectrum breadth and EMF level is one of the key decisions in the 2026 infrared sauna market.
How do I evaluate an infrared sauna warranty before buying?
Read the warranty document carefully before purchasing, not after. Key questions to ask: Does the warranty cover heaters, cabinetry, electrical components, and controls separately or together? What are the individual coverage periods for each? Is in-home technician service included, or do you need to ship components? What voids the warranty, and how are claims processed? A lifetime warranty that covers only the heaters while giving three years on the cabinet and one year on controls is a very different commitment from a true comprehensive lifetime warranty. For Canadian buyers, confirm whether the warranty is serviced by a Canadian team or requires cross-border shipping, which adds cost and delay.
What wood species is best for an infrared sauna cabin?
The best sauna wood is stable, low-resin, and properly kiln-dried to below 8 percent moisture content so it does not warp, crack, or off-gas resins under repeated heat cycles. Canadian Western Red Cedar is the benchmark: naturally antimicrobial, aromatic, dimensionally stable, and it performs well across temperature ranges. Canadian Hemlock is a widely used, knot-free alternative that is lighter and more affordable than cedar; it is adequate for most users but less aromatic and slightly less thermally stable. Eucalyptus is a denser hardwood used by some premium brands; it resists moisture and repeated thermal cycling well. Avoid MDF, particleboard, or plywood anywhere inside the cabin, as these materials can off-gas formaldehyde and other volatile compounds when heated. Always look for published kiln-dried moisture data and third-party VOC testing.
What is the downside of an infrared sauna?
Infrared saunas have several practical downsides to consider before purchasing. They require a dedicated electrical circuit, typically 240V for two-person and larger units, which adds installation cost. Quality units with verified low-EMF and full-spectrum heating cost between $4,000 and $10,000 CAD or more. Entry-level models often use unverified EMF figures and lower-grade wood. Full-spectrum units that include near-infrared heaters run at higher surface temperatures and may produce more EMF than far-infrared-only models. On the health side, infrared saunas are not recommended for pregnant women, people with certain cardiovascular conditions, or those with implanted devices such as pacemakers without prior physician approval. Dehydration is a real risk with frequent use; always hydrate before and after sessions.
